Join The Mosaic Rooms Mailing List

Get free tickets and find out about our new events
* = required field

God Dies by the Nile and other Novels


ISBN: 9781783605965

Paperback: 494 pages
Publisher: Zed Books, 2015
Language: English
Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 3.3 x 20.3 cm


God Dies by the Nile is Nawal El Saadawi’s classic attempt to square religion with a society in which women are respected as equals. Set in Kafr El Teen – a beautiful, sleepy village on the banks of the Nile – it follows Zakeya, an ordinary villager, as she awakens to and struggles against the injustice and oppression around her. Nawal El Saadawi was born in 1931, in a small village outside Cairo. She is the author of over 50 novels and short stories. As well as being a world renowned novelist she is a trained psychiatrist and outspoken advocate for feminism, socialism and anti-imperialism.

Additional information


Our website uses cookies that do not collect personal data. View our Privacy Policy.